Season Opening Concert with  Works by Béla Bartók
Sunday, 25 September 2016
From 19.30 - 22.00
Müpa – Béla Bartók National Concert Hall,
5.200 Ft, 4.300 Ft, 3.600 Ft, 2.900 Ft, 2.100 Ft
Buy ticket

Season Opening Concert with Works by Béla Bartók

Dezső Ránki and Zoltán Kocsis

Bartók Two Pictures, Op. 10, Sz. 46, BB 59
Bartók Piano Concerto No. 3, Sz.119, BB 127
Bartók Four Orchestral Pieces, Op. 12., Sz. 51, BB 64
Bartók Dance Suite, Sz. 77, BB 86
Dezső Ránki piano
Hungarian National Philharmonic Orchestra
Zoltán Kocsis conductor

In keeping with tradition, the first night of the season will feature works by Bartók, showing contrasting faces of the composer from different periods in his life. Mature works of his youth are represented by Two Images (1910) and the undeservedly rarely heard symphonic cycle Four Pieces for Orchestra with its late-Romantic passion and French colours. Premièred in 1923, the Dance Suite contrasts the characteristic motifs of the music of the Danube peoples in what is Bartók’s personal creed. Composed in New York, he dedicated his last completed work, the Piano Concerto No. 3, to his wife. Dezső Ránki is one of few artists who can boast this twilight masterpiece to be their musical vernacular.