Krisztián Kocsis and Zsolt Hamar
Wednesday, 4 October 2017
From 19.30
Italian Cultural Institute,
3.500 Ft, 2.500 Ft

Krisztián Kocsis and Zsolt Hamar

Kocsis Zoltán bérlet 1.

Liszt-Kocsis Vallée d’Obermann
Kocsis Zoltán Memento (Chernobyl ‘86)
Mozart Piano Concerto in C major, K. 467
R. Strauss Metamorphosen – Study for 23 String Instruments
Krisztián Kocsis piano
Hungarian National Philharmonic Orchestra
Zsolt Hamar conductor

Dedicated to the memory of Zoltán Kocsis, the first work in the programme is one of the maestro’s many transcriptions. Vallée d’Obermann is a philosophical work in Liszt’s Swiss chapter of Années de pèlerinage. The original score contains numerous notes concerning orchestral effects, based on which Kocsis created a transcription that could easily have been written by Liszt himself. Kocsis was always active as a composer and wrote a piece of funeral music in memory of the victims of the Chernobyl nuclear catastrophe, which also features in tonight’s programme. The maestro’s son, the highly gifted Krisztián Kocsis performs a Mozart piano concerto. The programme rounds off with Richard Strauss’s Metamorphoses, a study for 23 solo strings, which was composed in the last months of World War II, with an atmosphere redolent of mourning over millennial European culture. The title alludes to the theme of the funeral march of Beethoven’s Eroica, which is cited in Strauss’s half-hour, one-movement work.