The Apotheosis of Dance
Thursday, 17 October 2019
From 7.30 pmuntil approximately 9.25 pm
Liszt Academy,
HUF 5,500 / 4,500 / 4,000 / 3,500
Buy ticket

The Apotheosis of Dance

Ferencsik season ticket 1

Maurice Ravel La Valse
Max Bruch Violin Concerto No. 1 in G minor, op. 26
Maurice Ravel Tzigane
Richard Strauss Rosenkavalier Suite, op. 59
Maxim Vengerov violin
Hungarian National Philharmonic Orchestra
Zsolt Hamar conductor

This concert offers waltzes and virtuosity. It starts out with the apotheosis of the waltz form: La Valse, which Maurice Ravel started formulating in his mind in 1906 (originally under the title Wien). Finally, in 1920, after the collapse of the Austro-Hungarian Empire, he completed it, as the dance of death of the formerly convivial Viennese world. The closing piece also features triple time. The opera Der Rosenkavalier is set in the time of the Empress Maria Theresa, but the Bavarian Richard Strauss paired it with an unabashedly anachronistic waltz, a genre that would only come into fashion more than half a century after the period when the story takes place. This is the basis of this concert piece created to music from the opera. Of the virtuoso violin pieces, Tzigane also relates somewhat to the former Dual Empire: this time to the Hungarian half. This is because Ravel was inspired to compose the work by a Hungarian violinist. Jelly Arányi travelled to Paris with Bartók in 1922. The two premièred Bartók’s Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 1 in a Parisian residence. Serving as the page-turner, Ravel was captivated by both the work and the violinist. He was therefore glad to write, at Arányi’s request, a rhapsody in the Hungarian style, whose accompanying piano part he later scored for orchestra as well. Before the interval, the audience will get to heart Maxim Vengerov perform Max Bruch’s 1866 Violin Concerto No. 1 in G minor. Maximum enjoyment is guaranteed.

100 évesek vagyunk