Symphony No. 3 in F major, op. 90

I. Allegro non troppo

II. Andante moderato

III. Allegro giocoso

IV. Allegro energico e passionato. Tema con variazioni


Brahms’s Symphony No. 3 is ambiguous from the very beginning: the first chord is in F major, but the soprano harmony in the second measure is an A-flat, more typical of the key of F minor. The passionate main theme that is played afterwards starts out in the major key, but then switches to the minor in the next instant. And the final movement also starts in F minor. János (Hans) Richter, who conducted the world première, considered Brahms’s Third Symphony to be similar to Beethoven’s Third, the Eroica Symphony. The main theme unquestionably suggests heroic pathos. The secondary theme in A major evokes more the atmosphere of old dainty and refined chamber music-style serenades. The melody is played by a clarinet – an instrument that also gets an important role in the beginning of the second movement, the Andante, written in C major. The third movement occupies the place of the customary scherzo (or minuet), but is more of a slightly livelier and more dancelike slow movement. Opened by the cello, it moves into the usual trio in the middle part, and then features a horn, followed by an oboe. What is interesting about the ominously starting finalé is that it returns at the end to the main theme from the first movement.

100 évesek vagyunk