Memorial Concert ‒ In Memoriam Zoltán Kocsis
Friday, 6 November 2020
From 7:30 pmuntil approximately 9:10 pm
Müpa – Béla Bartók National Concert Hall,
HUF 5,500 / 4,500 / 4,000 / 3,500 / 2,500
Buy ticket

Memorial Concert ‒ In Memoriam Zoltán Kocsis

Non-season ticket concert

Ludwig van Beethoven Egmont Overture, op. 84
Franz Liszt Totentanz
Franz Liszt Ave Maria (The Bells of Rome)
Franz Liszt – Zoltán Kocsis Ave Maria
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Requiem, K. 626
József Balog piano
Beatrix Fodor soprano
Atala Schöck alto
Tibor Szappanos tenor
Krisztián Cser bass
Hungarian National Choir (choir master: Csaba Somos)
Hungarian National Philharmonic Orchestra
Ádám Cser (opening piece) conductor
János Kovács conductor

On 6 November 2016, Zoltán Kocsis passed away at the age of 64, after inscribing his name in the most glorious annals of Hungary’s musical history as a pianist, composer, teacher and conductor. In 1997, after a long and illustrious career as a pianist, he took over the helm of the Hungarian State Symphony Orchestra, which under his leadership embarked on a great journey: renamed the Hungarian National Philharmonic Orchestra, it would evolve into a world-class ensemble. Each piece in our concert references a different chapter in the story of the great artist’s work.

First, Ádám Cser will conduct the Egmont Overture; the piece’s revolutionary tone is a suitable tribute to Kocsis’s memory, as audiences first encountered the young pianist as a genuine musical rebel during the 1970s. Zoltán Kocsis was a dedicated performer of Liszt’s works, while Kocsis’s versatility and ‘omnipotent’ role in Hungarian music is also reminiscent of the great 19th century composer, pianist, conductor and teacher. Which is why, on this evening, Liszt’s works will take centre stage. First we will enjoy Liszt’s superb piano concerto, Totentanz, with a solo performance from the outstanding pianist József Balog, who has himself played under the baton of Zoltán Kocsis.

Like a fine couplet, we will also hear two versions of Liszt’s Ave Maria. First the original, then as transcribed by Kocsis, a reminder that as a composer Kocsis transcribed works by his great predecessors Bartók, Kodály, Debussy and Rachmaninov. The show’s final piece, Mozart’s Requiem, speaks for itself. Zoltán Kocsis was one of the greatest interpreters of Mozart’s music in the last 50 years, and there could be no better way to recall a great artist who left us before his time than with the sounds of this funeral mass.