Tchaikovsky and Rachmaninov
Wednesday, 10 May 2017
From 19.30 - 21.30
Müpa – Béla Bartók National Concert Hall,
5.200 HUF, 4.300 HUF, 3.600 HUF, 2.900 HUF, 2.100 HUF
Buy ticket

Tchaikovsky and Rachmaninov

Gábor Farkas and János Kovács

Pyotr Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-flat minor, op. 23
Rachmaninov Symphony No. 2 in E minor, Op. 27
Gábor Farkas piano
Hungarian National Philharmonic Orchestra

The programme presents well-known works by composers uniquely melding Russian and European traditions. Tchaikovsky was in his thirties when he composed his piano concerto, which chiefly owes its popularity to its opening theme, even though the melody never returns during the work. Also in his thirties, the pianist performing the masterpiece has earned international fame and performed at Carnegie Hall in 2016. Tchaikovsky was a role model for Rachmaninov, who composed his ambitious work in 1908, by which time he had earned fame for his Symphony No. 2. The concert will be conducted by the first conductor and life member of the Hungarian State Orchestra, one of the greatest Hungarian conductors of our days.