HOLIDAY ANTICIPATION – The Hungarian National Philharmonic’s Christmas Concert
Friday, 23 December 2022
From 7:30 PM until approximately 9:30 PM
Müpa – Béla Bartók National Concert Hall,
HUF 6,900, HUF 5,900, HUF 4,900, HUF 3,900, HUF 2,900

HOLIDAY ANTICIPATION – The Hungarian National Philharmonic’s Christmas Concert

Non-season ticket concert 3

György Vashegyi conductor

Johann Sebastian Bach: Christmas Oratorio – first cantata (Jauchzet, frohlocket, auf, preiset die Tage), BWV 248/1
Johann Sebastian Bach: Christmas Oratorio – second cantata (Und es waren Hirten in derselben Gegend), BWV 248/2
Johann Sebastian Bach: Süßer Trost, mein Jesus kömmt – cantata, BWV 151
Johann Sebastian Bach: Christmas Oratorio – third cantata (Herrscher des Himmels, erhöre das Lallen), BWV 248/3

Emőke Baráth soprano
Eszter Balogh alto
Zoltán Megyesi tenor
Lóránt Najbauer bass

Hungarian National Choir (choirmaster: Csaba Somos)
Hungarian National Philharmonic Orchestra

Conductor: György Vashegyi

On the night before Christmas Eve, what else could the Hungarian National Philharmonic and the Hungarian National Choir perform to create a sublime festive mood other than the music of Bach? In addition to the first three cantatas of the Christmas Oratorio, we will also get to hear another cantata by the great Baroque composer that is also related to the celebration of Christmas. Conducting the programme will be the most capable Hungarian conductor of the early music repertoire, György Vashegyi, and the cast of vocal soloists are also among the country’s very finest artists working in the area of historically informed performance .

Bach’s Christmas Oratorio comprises six cantatas, and not only can they be played separately, they were never played one after the other over the course of a single performance in their own time either, as they are pieces intended for use in church services, with each of them applying to a different day of the Christmas holidays and reflecting the thinking and spiritual content that applies to that day. This concert features the first half of the oratorio, meaning the first three cantatas: Jauchzet, frohlocket, auf, preiset die Tage (“Shout for joy, exult, rise up, praise the day”), Und es waren Hirten in derselben Gegend (“And there were shepherds in the same environ”) and Herrscher des Himmels, erhöre das Lallen (“Ruler of heaven, hear our babble”) relate to the first three days of Christmas, Süßer Trost, mein Jesus kömmt (“Sweet comfort, my Jesus comes”), being performed between the second and third cantatas was also written for the third day of Christmas.

The four soloists – Emőke Baráth, Eszter Balogh, Zoltán Megyesi and Lóránt Najbauer – are regular contributors to productions conducted by György Vashegyi, and thus will convey with full authenticity the stylistic concept represented by the key personality behind historically informed early music performance in Hungary.