Hungarian Nathional Philharmonic Orchestra
Thursday, 17 March 2022
From 7 PMuntil approximately 9 PM
Szigligeti Theatre,
Oradea (Nagyvárad)

Hungarian Nathional Philharmonic Orchestra

tour of Transylvania


Erkel: Festival Overture 
Erkel: Hunyadi László – Mária Gara’s aria (“Szememben mámor…”) 
Bartók: Hungarian Pictures (Sz. 97, BB 103) 
Liszt: Hungarian Rhapsody No. 2 


Beethoven: Egmont Overture, op. 84
Kodály: The Spinning Room – (“A csitári hegyek alatt…”) 
Kodály: The Peacock – variations on a Hungarian folk tune 
encore: Erkel: Hunyadi László – Palotás Dance 

Renáta Gebe-Fügi – soprano

Hungarian National Philharmonic Orchestra

Conductor: János Kovács


It is an important mission of the Hungarian National Philharmonic Orchestra to cultivate relations with the ethnic Hungarians living in the neighbouring countries. The ensemble is always delighted to travel to Transylvania to evoke the most beautiful treasures of our music culture. Their next trip there will take place during the Ides of March, on the occasion of our national holiday marking the 1848/49 Hungarian Revolution and War of Independence, when the orchestra’s musicians will visit the historic cities of Cluj-Napoca, Târgu Mureş and Oradea to perform some gems of 19th- and 20th-century Hungarian music for the audiences there.


The works of Erkel, Liszt, Bartók and Kodály are worthy expressions of the traditions and manner of thinking of the Hungarian nation: contained in their dashing and sometimes melancholy melodies, taut rhythms and vibrant accentuations are the emotional world, longing for freedom and pride of the Hungarian people, along with – in a wordless form – all the energy, hopes, struggles and failures of their history and shared existence, as well as their strength to survive. The Festival Overture, Hunyadi László, Hungarian Pictures, the Hungarian Rhapsody No. 2, The Spinning Room and The Peacock all speak in many different ways about who we are, where we come from and what our ancestors wished for in their hearts. Beethoven’s Egmont Overture, the sole composition on the programme that is not of Hungarian origin, is nevertheless not out of place here, as the sense of yearning for liberty and heroism expressed in the noble work became a symbol of the second great revolution of the Hungarian people, that of 1956. Formerly led by Zoltán Kocsis and now approaching its centenary, the Hungarian National Philharmonic will be playing these three concerts under the baton of one of the finest conductors in Hungary: now in his 70th year, János Kovács is respected across Europe as an interpreter of both the operatic and symphonic repertoires. Soprano soloist Renáta Gebe-Fügi, however, will represent Transylvania at the concerts: a native of Cluj-Napoca, she is an artist with the ”Treasure City’s“ Hungarian Opera.