…like the clang of ore
Monday, 6 April 2020
From 19:00until approximately 21:00
House of Arts,
HUF 4,000 / 3,500

…like the clang of ore

Lukács season ticket 4

Sándor Balassa Valley of the Huns, op. 69
László Dubrovay Triple Concerto for trumpet, trombone, tuba and symphonic orchestra
Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy Symphony No. 4 in A major (“Italian”), op. 90
Zoltán Molnár trumpet
Róbert Stürzenbaum trombone
Roland Szentpáli tuba
Hungarian National Philharmonic Orchestra
Thomas Kornél conductor

For this early spring concert, the listener is invited on an extraordinary hike. Our first destination is Switzerland. Here you will find a picturesque valley (that goes by the name of Val d’Anniviers), where, according to legend, a part of Attila the Hun’s army that had left the main body found refuge after the Battle of the Catalaunian Plains (451 AD). There is some doubt about the veracity of the story, of course, but it is certainly true that in certain exterior characteristics the people who live here differ from the residents of nearby areas, something that the philosopher Rousseau noted in his own time. Sándor Balassa’s fantasy was inspired by the story and the beautiful landscape, which form the setting for Valley of the Huns.  After Switzerland, we can journey through our imagination to Jurassic Park with the sounds of László Dubrovay’s Triple Concerto, written for trumpet, trombone, tuba and orchestra. It is as if enormous dinosaurs are stepping and stomping among us. Then an entertaining dance breaks out. Who would have thought brass instruments were capable of so many different types of sound! The last stop on our hiking tour is rather less exotic, but no less appealing. Sun-kissed Italy is brought to life through the melodies of the young Mendelssohn.

100 évesek vagyunk