Worlds of 60 Years
Friday, 25 January 2019
From 7.30 pm
Vigado Concert Hall,
3.500 Ft – 2.500 Ft
Buy ticket

Worlds of 60 Years

Ervin Lukács season ticket 4

Mozart Lucio Silla
Berlioz Harold en Italie, op. 16
Máté Szűcs viola
Hungarian National Philharmonic Orchestra
Sylvain Cambreling conductor

The world-famous conductor, also familiar to Hungarian audiences will conduct masterpieces from the 60-year period between 1775-1834 that nonetheless seem to come from completely different worlds. Sylvain Cambreling has served as musical director of renowned European and Japanese ensembles and operas for several decades and heads the Hamburg Symphony Orchestra as of the 2018-2019 season. Opening the programme is the dashingly lively overture from the comic opera La finta giardiniera, which Mozart wrote for the city of Munich just as he entered adulthood. We will then hear a bold orchestral piece from a young Beethoven still finding his way but with a style all of his own. Finally, Cambreling will conduct a work of one of the most significant French composers of the 19th century, a genuine romantic symphony that connects literature and music with boundless imagination. The piece, a viola concerto in disguise, was composed at the encouragement of Paganini and will be performed by the first principal violist of the Berlin Philharmonic, Máté Szűcs.