Friday, 15 February 2019
7.30 pm
Vigado Concert Hall,
Sold out

Power and Beauty

Ervin Lukács season ticket 5

Brahms Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 77
Ludwig van Beethoven Symphony No. 5 in C minor (“Fate”), op. 67
Kristóf Baráti violin
Hungarian National Philharmonic Orchestra
Hartmut Haenchen Conductor

Two of the basic pillars of the orchestral and concert repertoire are these works by two emblematic composers active in the period between Bach and Bartók who also shared the letter B. Following Brahms and Beethoven, we proceed directly to Kristóf Baráti, one of the greatest violinists of his generation, whose noble blend of stunning virtuosity and profound musicality leaves listeners in a state of wonder. Brahms’s violin concerto is one of the most beautiful and rich compositions of the genre, while Beethoven’s Symphony in C minor, completed 70 years earlier in 1808, is among the most powerful works in the history of music. This masterpiece built upon the famous, thundering motif of “fate” was perhaps intended as a credo by a composer suffering from terminal illness, affirmation that man can indeed overcome difficulties and emerge victorious from situations in which he had long thought himself lost. Hartmut Haenchen, who brings these pieces to life with the Hungarian National Philharmonic, is one of Germany’s most sought-after conductors and a native speaker of the German Classical-Romantic repertoire.